Posted by: itneverrainsinseattle | January 18, 2010

On the Magazine Rack

With my business failing, I’m always looking for new business opportunities. I was inspired by a post on The Divorce Encouragist to consider going into the magazine business.

Now might be the perfect time to launch a new title regarding modern break-ups and divorce. Imagine if magazine racks featured issues of “Divorcee’s Quarterly,” “The New Divorcer,” “Better Breakups and Divorces,” and “Modern Breakup” displayed just as proudly as all those bridal and marriage and so-called “ladies'” magazines (which really just pimp 50’s-style marriage and domesticity).

I can see the magazine cover now for “Divorce Today”.

Cover model? Renee Zellweger:

“How I Knew it was Time to Move On”

Other cover stories:

“Lawyers… Are They Really Necessary?”

Managing Your Facebook Relationship Status

“The Top 8 Rules of Breakup

“Are you in a Sexless Marriage? Take our Quiz!”

“What’s New at Your Local Divorce Fair? Check Inside!”

“I Love it When I Have the Kids… And I Love it When My EX Has the Kids!!!”

And of course:

“Better SEX After Your EX!!!”

Hmmm. I think it’s time for me to start working up the business plan….

—–

As a side note, I’ll mention that I wrote this piece before Shannon at lovedyoumore.wordpress.com published her “Divorce Fair” entry, linked above, and I think it’s interesting how so many of the bloggers seem to latch onto similar themes at the same time. And, while we’re at it, the Good Mummy at badmummynocookie.wordpress.com has informed me that she recalls seeing a “Divorce Magazine” (or something along those lines) and sent me a link to an actual Divorce Fair. (I will also say that I’m rather annoyed that the article regarding the divorce fair opens up with a quip that assumes that men typically have affairs. That irks me as much as sit-coms that assume that all fathers are clueless idiots. Grrr.)

What an interesting world in which we live, no?


Responses

  1. Not a bad idea. You would certainly have a burgeoning audience. Don’t forget topics like…’Happiness is the Best Revenge” an article on recovery and self-improvement. I’d buy it. Heck, I’d beg for a column!

    Have a great day. Thanks for the smile!

  2. […] seeing divorce magazines in the grocery store checkout line could in fact turn into a reality as It Never Rains In Seattle is already brainstorming headlines.  While visiting his page, I followed a link to this wonderful […]

  3. I want a column too! I’d love to see this come to fruition (even if I don’t get a column). And there’s as much an opportunity for reader-generated content as there is for typical expert advice… people NEED to talk about these things, and it’s hard to find an understanding audience.

  4. I love this idea…

    BUT… why does it have to be all divorce? You know what I want to see? I want to see literature for the person who is single and HAPPY be it by choice, or not.

    There’s not just people who are single due to divorce. Everybody seems to forget about the person who WANTS to retain their freedom, or just hasn’t found the right person yet.

    Once I read about a woman who had never married so she threw herself a “Wedding to Myself” deal- she set it up the same as a ‘real’ wedding and took vows to always remain true to herself. She figured she’d spent thousands of dollars attending and buying gifts for her friends weddings- most of those friends now divorced- and she didn’t understand why she didn’t deserve some sort of party too. I want to do that. I want to marry myself.

    Being single in a couples world is not easy, when you really sit down to think about it.

  5. P.S. Why don’t you create a Magazine-Blog and give us all a column? After all- the world is digital these days!

  6. Theme song: Live Close By, Visit Often K.T. Oslin. Not that anyone will take that advice.

    Remember, you’ll have a short-lived audience as MOST of your audience will be looking to jump right back into it. Perhaps a follow up magazine as well, “Multiple Marriages: How to Make It Work” (this time)….

  7. Woohoo! I get a byline! 😉

  8. Damn you for thinking it up first! We just have awesome business savvy minds:)

  9. Before you commit to anything, check out how large the overhead is – and how many issues get returned unsellable at a loss.

    My son works at a bookstore with a large magazine rack. One of his jobs is to cull the non-sellers which can be returned for credit. There is dwindling profit for publishers as more issues get returned every month, and many of the remainder are shoplifted without payment. If it gets bad enough, the bookstore stops carrying the magazine. No one wins then.

    You might consider a subscription web site instead. Much lower overhead and no returns. The money would be all yours once you meet the rent.

  10. Um hi, what about a blog?? Much more freedom than print and potentially much higher circulation. Just a thought…

  11. I think that in time you should advertise on youe Blog. There’s money in that and you have a following. Ka-ching!

  12. Hillarious, I bet you would make a fortune.

  13. […] And now, I’d like to pass this award on to a fellow blogger who writes with wit, wisdom and (from what I can tell) honesty.  I’m happy to have discovered him out here in the blogosphere and I wish him the best in his upcoming endeavors… congrats, It Never Rains in Seattle! […]


Leave a comment

Categories