Posted by: itneverrainsinseattle | July 6, 2010

My Life, the Sitcom

Greetings from [Dealership Name] Chrysler Jeep Dodge of [City Name]! You know, sometimes, when things like this happen, you just have to sit back and admire the comedy of it all.

I was driving to work this morning. Tuesday morning. I need to put in ten hour days all this week in order to make up for the mandatory day off we were forced to take yesterday (Monday, the 5th of July) for the 4th of July holiday. I’m a contractor; I only get paid for the hours I work, and while I was required to take the day off, I still need to work my 40 hours if I’m to collect a week’s pay.

I was looking forward to getting back to work. I’ve been meaning to blog about how my office at work is currently the only stable (ha!) place in my life. But that’s another blog post. The point is, I like my job, it pays well, and it’s a relatively healthy work environment. The weather was pleasant, the day was off to a good start. I even managed to sleep okay (five hours!) despite my leg and the usual complaints last night. A great start to a great week.

So, I started my drive to work, and the battery light came on in my veeehicle. Okay. I’ll have to take it to the shop this week to get that checked out, I thought. Good thinking. I got a little further up the road, and the ABS warning light came on. Then the airbag light. Then the windshield wipers started wiping. Front and back. And the windshield fluid started squirting. And then the speedometer ran up and down and up and down.

I called my friend who lives nearby and who works at the same office to ask if he could give me a ride from the dealership, as I would obviously have to take my car there on the way to the office. No problem, he said. Then the car started bucking. I couldn’t go faster than 30 miles per hour. And I’m on the highway. And the engine was still bucking. And I couldn’t put on the emergency flashers.

I pulled off the highway and head toward the gas station that I know to be there. I got into the left turn lane. The car stalled out. Called to my friend: no need for a ride, as my car needs to be towed, and I have no idea how long this is going to take.

I keep a portable battery jumper thing in my car. Pulled that out and jumped my van (all the while traffic is zooming by on both sides.) Got the car started again. Pulled into the gas station. Called the dealership to see if they could look at my car today. Nope. Called another dealership (one I prefer, anyway, but isn’t as geographically convenient.) Yup. Call the towing company they recommended. That was fun, watching the guy get my car onto the flatbed. (It’s an all-wheel drive, so a conventional truck wouldn’t do.) Imagine the fun of me climbing into the cab of that truck with my impaired knee.

And here I am, at the dealership, typing to you while I await my ride to work.

I was supposed to start work about two hours ago. I should arrive at work (courtesy shuttle!) in an hour or so. And I’ll need to get a shuttle ride back to pick up my car (assuming they fix it today), which will further interrupt my presumably 10-hour work day today. But that’s okay. It’s all okay.

The sun is shining. The temperature outside is ideal. I’m well rested (for me) and in good health (again, knee notwithstanding). And, hell, this will make a great story someday. So… why not today?

Responses

  1. I don’t even know which platitude applies in this particular situation. Therefore, I will pick one from one of my favorite kids’ books called, The Rules. This SUCKS A BIG ONE!

    However, you knew that.

    Needless to say, I am so incredibly very sorry.

  2. gaaaah! cars are evil. sending good repair vibes your way!

  3. I’m so sorry, but I can’t help but chuckle a bit at your luck. You sure can’t catch a break, can you? Oh well, shit happens, you’ll get through it. Sounds like things are moving forward nicely judging by your last few posts. I’m glad things haven’t stalled out for you at least. I am also sending good repair vibes your way!

  4. Now that just SUCKS. but you have a GREAT attitude about it so I say that’s just awesome…say a big Eff you to life’s knocks, cuz you are punching them down like WHOA 😉

  5. Oh that sucks! Damn good outlook on it though! I would be well into tears by now if I was you!

  6. I have to admit to giggling a bit here, especially at the imagery of your wipers and wiper juice just randomly spraying and wiping!!

  7. Okay, this sucks. Way to keep your head and treat this like an opportunity for blog fodder. So proud of you!

  8. It may never rain in Seattle, but when it does, it pours! (I know, horrible, horrible…I simply couldn’t resist!)
    😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

