Posted by: itneverrainsinseattle | June 29, 2010

Fathers Day, 2010

This about sums up my very last Fathers Day in my marriage to the mother of my children. Actually, it is in many ways representative of all but one or two Fathers Days I’ve had since becoming a father.

Fathers Day, 2010: Having had major knee surgery two days prior, I was still laid up in bed and experiencing quite a bit of pain. While I’d have liked to take my oldest son out to see Toy Story 3 or The Karate Kid at the theater, I wasn’t going anywhere that particular day. At one point, Penny, my soon-to-be-ex-wife, was shopping with the kids at Target. She phoned me.

She: They’ve got a bunch of DVDs on sale for five bucks. Should I get Blazing Saddles?

Me: Sure.

She: Shawshank Redemption?

Me: I wouldn’t mind seeing that one again.

She: [Some other movie I’ve seen before, but can’t remember the name right now]?

Me: Nah. I mean, I suppose I could watch that one more time, but it’s not something I’d likely feel like pulling out more than once, unlike those other two.

She: Okay. I’ll just get Blazing Saddles and Shawshank, then. Happy Fathers Day.

Fiddle-dee-dee.

Responses

  1. I for one hope that the rest of your Fathers Day’s from here on out are the bomb!

  2. Ugh… I’m so sorry. I’m sure you’ll have much better Father’s Day’s ahead of you. But as Blazing Saddles is one of my all time favorite movies, I say watch it, laugh and move right along….

  3. Wow. I’m not sure where to go with that. Ummm, just know that you deserve better. And I believe you will get it.

    Big hugs!

  4. Well..Happy Fathers Day. It is all about them (the kids) anyway. When the times come, or Penny can drive you, Toy Story 3 is a hit, specially the cheesy romance between Ken and Barbie…Oh and if you can watch it 3D with your boys do it. It will save you a second request for the same movie.

  5. I’m very puzzled by this. As I see it, buying these two videos is completely inappropriate. I see this purchase as an act of a couple and not of two people in the process of a divorce.

    Now if this purchase was intended to be your Fathers’ Day gift (you don’t say one way or the other), then I can understand this – especially as the cost isn’t that great. But if Penny bought the movies for any other reason, then this little act could blow up into something much bigger later on. It’s been a few days since you wrote this entry, so I have no further info as to what developed. Just remember that little acts of kindness now can end up on a balance sheet later on. You have already been slapped with the “your kids” taunt.

    I hope the ladies can add something to these thoughts, and if they can refute them all the better.


Leave a Reply

Categories

