Posted by: itneverrainsinseattle | June 18, 2010

We Interrupt This Blog to Bring You the Following Knee Surgery….

I got back from my vacation to a “day job” where I was way behind in work, a couple of paying side-projects where I was way behind in work, a divorce-still-in-progress, a “request” from the bank that we put our house up for sale, three children who were starving for my attention, and various appointments regarding my upcoming knee surgery.

I’m still behind on most of all that, but in trying to get caught up, well… it’s been a struggle even to carve a few minutes out to download e-mail (let alone read it) or quickly touch base with my friends.

Hi, friends!

On Monday, I learned from my knee surgeon’s “PA” that I don’t necessarily have to go under general anesthesia for the operation. “If you’re really hard core, I suppose we could block it (the leg).”

I wanted to say, “No, if I was really hard core, we could do this without any anesthesia at all.”

Amateur.

What’s so hard core about wanting to avoid general anesthesia if you can? We’ll see how that goes.

This is all by way of saying, I’ve been too busy these past few days to even catch my proverbial breath. I was a bit melancholy toward the end of Reunion, but there were some definite highlights, and just today I had an interesting prompt that triggered a fond memory of my last day as a student at University. I’ll expect to post about “how Natalie and I saved graduation” soon.

In the meantime, I suppose I should go get some sleep. Tomorrow morning, I get up, shower with some special anti-bactieral soap, and refrain from eating and drinking until my afternoon surgery (ugh). I reckon I’ll get some reading done while I twiddle my thumbs at the hospital leading up to the surgery. And if all goes well, I’ll be back at home in time to have no appetite for dinner. Whee!

Thank you all for your well wishes and your support. In the next few days, I’m hoping to have some down time to catch up on your blogs,and  maybe even respond to some of your comments (I appreciate them all!) and post a few comments of my own. Given that Penny will likely be packing up stuff in an effort to try to de-clutter our house (the better to put it on the market), we’ll see how long I can actually get away with simply convalescing.

Responses

  1. Hi Friend back!! Hope all goes well!

  2. Well, I hope that the appetite comes back soon. I hope the pain isn’t debilitating. I hope that we actually get to Skype while you convalesce.

    Miss you!

  3. Hope the surgery goes well and recovery is smooth..and soon enough you’ll be back at it!! And um, really, no anesthesia?! Um no.

  4. Hope everything goes smooth! Will be thinking about you!

  5. Good luck with the surgery .. I’d go for the general.

  6. sending you good knee-related thoughts. hope everything goes swimmingly and as pain-free as possible.

  7. General anasthesia sucks donkey balls, but being awake while they dig around in my knee IS hard core in my book!
    Good luck in surgery and best wishes for a speedy recovery!

  8. I hope it went well. Did you tell the doc all you needed was some whiskey and a stick to bite on?

  9. Stick, hell! Rotgut and a .44, please!

    Good luck with the surgery. I hope it doesn’t ruin Father’s Day for you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

