Posted by: itneverrainsinseattle | March 8, 2010

Award Season

So, there are a few bloggy awardy thingies going around where bloggers who are given a given award perform some ritual and then, in turn, give the award to some number of recipients in a ponzi/pyramid/chain-letter scheme to flood the market with blog awards.

I’m sorry, but can we pause for a moment and admire just how absolutely, gorgeously awful that sentence was? I mean, I’m thinking it probably won’t make American Drivel Review, but it might at least rate a hand-written rejection note.

Anyway, I suspect that there are more new bloggers every day than there are blog awards being passed along in this fashion, so I suppose there’s still room for the pyramid to grow.

My cynicism notwithstanding, I was very touched when a few fellow bloggers passed along a couple of these awardy thingies to me, and did so within the context of telling some incredible stories. At the same time, I’ve been wrestling with my two natures: the cynic says, “just say ‘Thank you’ and otherwise let the chain letter stop here,” while the Sally Struthers in me says, “but just as you were touched by these kind people who showed appreciation for your writing, you should show appreciation for the bloggers you read, too!” And then my mascara runs down my face.

The thing is… look at my blog roll. They are all great! All of them! How do I choose a mere five or twenty of them to pass along these awards to? Er. …To whom to pass these awards?

So, my plan was to put this off until a convenient moment. I am, after all, a procrastinator at heart. And yet… I’ve decided to put off procrastinating insofar as tonight is Academy Awards Night!

Since I don’t have a TV and have no interest in watching that other Awards show, anyway, instead I shall prepare my own competing Awards program.

First, there’s the Beautiful Blogger Award, which was so generously handed to me by The Divorce Encouragist.

I enjoy her blog immensely, as she is supporting the notion of divorce as a tool to help couples with problem marriages get out of their own way and move on with their lives. What a great cause! She makes great observations and provides some juicy food for thought.

The award is passed along with the notion that the recipient will list seven things about himself or herself that are not otherwise known to his/her reading audience. I’ll get to that in a minute. The Divorce Encouragist also made the decision to pass along the award to one person instead of the previously traditional five (seven?). I will honor this new tradition, and pass along the award to…

When Did I Become a Grown Up?

KT has gone through some rough times, but she eloquently conveys her story about getting out of a marriage that was just plain bad for all parties concerned, and how she is doing her best to raise her girls with her difficult Ex as a co-parent. As she finds a better life on the other side of the decision to divorce, I appreciate both the difficulties she is working to overcome and the happiness she is starting to find that was denied her during her marriage.

Next up is the Kreativ Blogger Award, which was kindly sent my way by Pippi and Β NYSoonerGirl. Thanks!

The Kreativ Blogger

While I started this blog to try to put my situation out there, and see how it looks/sounds to get it out (in other words, to methodically address some issues that have been plaguing me), Pippi is just downright shockingly honest. No holds barred, and no bars held. And NYSoonerGirl? She, like many of my blog friends, has come from break-up and discovered a boatload of happiness on the other side. You both are an inspiration!

Again, this award brings along with it that attached string of posting five to seven things about me previously unknown to my readers.

And then, I’m to pass it along to five other deserving bloggers. Let’s see… of all of the fine, fine reads, who shall I pick?

I’m going to skip over my fellow bloggers who I’m already aware have received the award. And they are all very worthy! But as far as I know, these five fantastic reads have not yet been tagged:

  • Bad Mummy, No Cookie — for her Grace in Small Things, and her unique perspective on “keeping on keeping on.”
  • DelightfulEccentric — for knowing who Poe is.
  • Faemom — for her approach to parenting, her arts and crafts with the kids, and just generally interesting anecdoterie.
  • Seasweetie’s Pages — for her Slightly Bizarre History Lessons, and her meditations on starting a new life (and a new business) post-divorce.
  • Snarkbutt Divorced — For book reviews, painful puns, and for just plain rolling with it.

Okay, so now you all have to post five to seven factoids about yourself that we don’t already know. Don’t break the chain!

Oh, wait. I guess I still have to do that, too. Hmmm.

  • I was the valedictorian at my high school. Because of me, every valedictorian that came after me has had to have his or her valedictory speech vetted by the principle. You see… I told it as I saw it. My speech was four paragraphs long, contained no platitudes, and did not refer to our class as “the future.” You could have heard a pin drop in that auditorium when I finished. Said one teacher to another after my speech, “Remind me, if I ever have a parade, to invite [ItNeverRainsInBuffalo] to rain on it.”
  • In addition to being the news director and, later, the morning dj at a commercial radio station in upstate New York, I also started a weekend comedy show there. The first song I played on our inaugural show was “I Bet You They Won’t Play This Song on the Radio” by Monty Python.
  • I am a direct descendant of the Hatfields of the famous Hatfield/McCoy feud in Kentucky/West Virginia. I am not proud of this fact, but as a history major, I’ve always found it at least interesting. And yes, I’ve heard the joke, “When a couple in West Virginia divorces, are they still legally brother and sister?”
  • I have tried out to be a contestant on Jeopardy! three times. All three times, I missed the cut-off to advance to the next round of contestant screening by one question. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.
  • I once served as a stadium announcer at an NFL football game (although I was simply announcing for the marching band) at a home game in my home town (even though my college marching band was visiting from a different town). I got to meet my hometown radio idols in the press box, as well as the national television broadcasters. It was the only time in my three years as announcer for my college’s marching band that I said my name as part of the credits.
  • I attended Roger Waters’ performance of “Pink Floyd The Wall” in Germany after the Berlin Wall came down. It was, like many chance opportunities in my life, a complete fluke that I was there. A friend of mine (the previously mentioned “Kyle”) flew over from the States to meet me there for the show. If you listen to the CD of the live performance, you can hear me in the background screaming my lungs out… along with about 350,000 other people.
  • Speaking of fluke opportunities… I played Carnegie Hall my senior year in college. Did I play cello, the instrument I’d excelled at as a child? No. I played… cymbals.

Thank you for indulging me these memories and factoids on Awards night. We now resume our regularly scheduled blog about angst, divorce, co-parenting, and therapist jokes, already in progress….

Responses

  1. Nice. Cymbals, huh? And a Hatfield, huh. Very cool. See, people who are imported and have no history think it’s really cool when others have history, even if it’s not history they are proud of.

    πŸ˜‰

  2. I often forget my experiences are not average. Regardless, imagine my surprise when you and DelightfulEccentric are a supposed few who’ve heard of Poe. Angry Johnny was fairly popular when I was in high school (and now I age myself).

    Clever writing, per usual.

  3. Loved the valedictorian story!

  4. Haha, I love that you played the cymbals! That’s a riot. I played saxaphone and hated it! Great list, some new blogs I need to check out πŸ˜‰

  5. Wow, the Wall? How friggin cool is that?!

    I’m with you. I have a hard time with the awards thing too. Congrats! Well deserved!

  6. Inris, Valedictorian at Butler – cool!

  7. Hilarious.

    (Did you mean Sally Field?)

  8. I LOVE your list. Especially the “I bet you they won’t play this song on the radio” bit. And the cymbals. Loved that.

    I’m not quite sure how to put this, because it’s going to make it sound like I don’t see you as a contemporary, but you and my dad would have a LOT in common. And I mean that in the best possible way – my dad is pretty cool. Although I don’t think he could be friends with you, since he’d always be a wee bit jealous of your Pink Floyd experience…

  9. Awe, congrats!

  10. Thanks for the shout out! Although I’m like you and kinda cynical about the ponzi/pyramid/chain-letter factor to blog awards, I’m not going to look this award/gift in the mouth. It’s an honor just to be blogged about.

    Or was this just a test to see if I’m still reading? πŸ™‚

    Great story about your son, BTW!

  11. Congrats on your awards. I don’t participate in the blog awards. The one good thing that comes out of these are some great links and reviews of other blogs just as you have done. Thank-you for sharing.

  12. So like, were you a band geek? *WOOT!* That’s sexy!

  13. Cymbals. Nice.

    Also, your valedictorian story made me LOL. Glad I’m home alone right now πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

