Posted by: itneverrainsinseattle | January 20, 2010

That’s My Boy

Lawyers who specialize in divorce are referred to as experts in “family law.” That seems a misnomer to me. Divorce does not equal “family.” Kinda the opposite, no?

And what does that make my fellow divorce/break-up bloggers? “Family bloggers”? Since we seem to be developing a community amongst ourselves, is this our “family blogger family?” Are the blogs of those with whom I am becoming closer my “family blogger family blogs?”

I notice that my family blogger family’s blogs (holy cow… the word family now sounds and looks like gibberish!) tend to have clever monikers for my family blogger family’s kids. “The Mook,” and “Bear,” and “Ankle Biter,” and “Little Mo,” and “My Little Accident.” There’s “The Ambassador,” “The Scientist,” and similar descriptors, but I’m following enough blogs now to where “the Ambassador” is a child on one blog and an ex on another. Or, maybe that’s The Scientist. Anyway.

I don’t have any such clever nicknames for my three sons yet, for the sake of this blog. I could do like George Forman, and call them “itneverrainsinseattle, Jr.” and “itneverrainsinseattle III” and “itneverrainsinseattle IV.” That seems a little brutal. I suppose I could look up the names of the three boys in the TV show, “My Three Sons,” but that might be a little esoteric. In real life, when I don’t call them by name, I refer to each of them as “buddy,” but there’s no real nickname that has stuck to them individually. (Growing up, I had a cousin who earned the nickname Cryin’ Brian. That was from the adults. Good times.)

They are all different, but they are not all yet distinguished. The oldest is a gymnast, but so are his brothers; it’s just that the oldest is now old enough to compete. They’re all blond. They all have green-ish eyes. They’re all smart and articulate — well, the one-and-a-half-year-old isn’t talking yet, but it’s clear that he’s going to be an orator, given how he babbles gibberish in complete paragraphs. (Some would add, “Just like his old man.”)

Yeah, I’ve been blessed with a bunch of Mini-Mes.

The middle child shows some signs that he may end up an introvert like his mother, but even she is one of those introverts who is articulate and far from shy. She simply needs alone time to recharge her batteries. And calling him “The Middle Child” seems unkind, and we are actively trying to not treat him as the proverbial middle child, even though he is one.

So, while I’m still trying to figure out a clever moniker for my three awesome kids, let me tell you a quick story about my oldest. He is seven-and-a-half years old and doing well in the second grade. Here is what his teachers had to say on his report card, which we received just a day or two ago. This is verbatim (except for my removing his name):

[Child] is a real character. He has a great sense of humor. He often makes up his own jokes that no one but he will laugh at. He is a curious student, always wanting to know how things work and why they work. He often gets so excited by what he is talking about that he doesn’t even realize his voice is geting louder and louder. He definitely likes to talk things through thoroughly to help him process the information he has learned. [Child] is a great peer tutor. He does a great job of explaining directions to children that (sic) missed them and is patient with them if they don’t understand. [Child] is a hard worker and a valued member of room seven.

In short, dear readers, he is exactly like his father.

That’s my boy.

Responses

  1. Awww. I love that. Sounds like the kids are a real blessing. I know I wouldn’t trade mine for anything.

    As for nicknames, they kind of have a way of coming about all on their own.

  2. “He often makes up his own jokes that no one but he will laugh at.”
    I love your son already!

  3. I agree with Nicki. The nicknames will come. “Kiddo” is what my oldest is called all the time, and as for “Little Mo” – well, Mo was a nickname she was given even before she was born! So it was easy for me. 🙂

    Your seven year old sounds pretty awesome, by way. Just like his dad. 🙂

  4. My grandfather calls me and my sister (his two oldest grandchildren by almost a decade) Number 1 and Number 2.

  5. Just one word from me to describe your post – “awww!” 🙂

  6. Hey now…divorce makes family too. Just a different flavor. And in my house, a much happier family. Just because there isn’t a father in the house (or mother) doesn’t mean the family isn’t a valid one. So there :p~~

    One of the things that I’ve been thinking about over the last six months (after the worst of the grief/pain eased) was that I can create my family the way I want to create it. For so many years what my family was had been framed by ex’s family, church and job. But now, although I couldn’t move to a warmer climate like I’d like to, my family can be what I want.

    So no…divorce is NOT the opposite of family. Just a variation of it.

    I’m sure that’s what you mean though… 🙂

  7. Awh that is too cute.. My seven year olds report card went something like this–Her socializing has cut done by a little and she doesn’t feel the need to talk every minute, just every other minute. As long as we don’t put anything shiny in front of her face or show her a new car or pair of heels she can stay focused. Often makes up random stories and thinks she is a full blown adult. Seems to forget that there are other people around her and loves to break out in song and dance. –Ok not verbatim but this was a definite improvement over last semester. Clearly an extrovert and only child.

    Maybe your kids couild have animal behaviors they remind you of to rename them. or countires… that could be fun….or a color…or use the names you were thinking about naming them before they were born…

  8. Be proud Itneverrains. Three kids is three times the trouble but also three times the fun! Awesome.

  9. I wanted to really “feel” this post; I swear, I did. I wanted to concentrate on the fact that it was about your kids, and in particular, your oldest son.

    But I can’t get past the teacher’s note! Who is this teacher…who ends a sentence in a preposition, doesn’t know “who” from “that”, and lazily overuses the word “great” in place of more appropriate adjectives? I think I’d have taken a red pen to it and sent it back..(Oh, yes, I am a big hit with teachers….)

    Now, you can’t tell me you didn’t notice that. LOL!

  10. Hi, all.

    Thank you all for the wonderful replies! I wanted to respond to each one individually… but I’m just overwhelmed right now (and a little tired, as well.)

    I just have to say… you all are the coolest gang I’ve had a chance to hang out with in a long while. I sincerely appreciate your support, your suggestions, your enthusiasm, your humor. All of it. Someone posted earlier about how I seem to have ended up with the smartest, most articulate commenters around, and I agree!

    So… thanks!

  11. nice post, Seatle. I have 2 boys too.. so, I guess I’m a bit partial to boys. =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

