Posted by: itneverrainsinseattle | January 1, 2010

New Year’s Eve 2009: Prelude to a Talk

Seattle, December 31st, 2009 into January 1st, 2010.

Me: We’re going to have to start figuring out our future. We could talk about it tonight, but it might be better if we’re not both wiped out.

She: [pauses. looks at me. I’m too tired to have any idea what that look means.]

Me: But definitely this weekend.

She: Well, we could shoot for tomorrow. Make sure we get the kids to bed earlier….

Me: Okay.

Truly, I was both physically and mentally wiped out. Not the best circumstances for having The Talk.

When we watched the ball drop in New York City using Penny’s computer (hooked up to the TV so the kids could watch) at 9 o’clock Seattle time, she avoided me. All those images of couples kissing in Times Square got a lot of attention from our kids: “Why’s everybody kissing?

But, not everybody was kissing.

Once we got the kids to bed (well, our youngest wouldn’t go down, but he’s not talking yet), we watched the live internet feed of the Seattle event at the Space Needle. Penny gave me the chastest of kisses and touched me with her feet as we sat on the couch.

Here’s my New Year’s Resolution: between tonight and next New Year’s Eve, I’m going to have had a real kiss with someone I like and who likes me. Maybe even have a real kiss on New Year’s Eve. The trick is getting to there from here.

And I think it starts with our Talk tomorrow night.

Responses

  1. That is a wonderful resolution! (Well, the part about a real kiss at some time in the next year. That’s doable. I can’t remember the last time I kissed someone on NYE… probably the X in 04/05. But that’s okay because I always kiss my drink :).

  2. I love the resolution too, and hope the talk goes well, or as well as said talk can possibly go. Cheers to a better 2010.


Leave a Reply

Categories

